FEMA Shelter-in-Place

FEMA logo

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) released Shelter-in-Place Pictogram Guidance for ten hazards and three building types. The guidance provides recommended interior locations for specific hazards, additional actions for protection, and the recommended duration for staying sheltered-in-place. The ten hazards are:

  • Active Shooter
  • Chemical Hazards
  • Earthquake
  • Flooding/Flash Flooding
  • Hurricane
  • Nuclear/Radiological Hazards
  • Pandemic
  • Thunderstorm
  • Tornado
  • Winter Storm

The three building types are:

  • Manufactured or Mobile Home
  • 1- or 2-Story Buildings
  • Multistory Buildings

Sometimes the best way to stay safe in an emergency is to get inside and stay put inside a building. Where you should stay can be different for different types of emergencies. Be informed about the different kinds of emergencies that could affect your area and ways officials share emergency information.